Skip to content

Benediction

by on February 17, 2011

I took my first ‘real’ kundalini class ever (people in the class wearing white bandanas and all). Kundalini classes end* with the “Sunshine Song” which sounds really cute in title, but it’s actually deep (to me):

May the long time sun shine upon you, all love surround you, and the pure light within you, Guide your way on.

For a pretty video of it if you haven’t heard it, check this out:

It reminded me of benedictions … and specifically one I remember from my Methodist church growing up:

May the Lord bless you and keep you, may the Lord make His face to shine upon you and be gracious unto you, this day and forever more. Amen.

Benediction, the short version, is a prayer or what have you, usually at the end of a worship service. The one above is exactly as I remember it, and appears to be a common benediction with a bit added (the gracious part).

I remember a verse that, even though I don’t identify as Christian any more sticks with me, and I would have likely used as part of a benediction if I went into ministry: “Those who trust in the Lord are like Mount Zion, which cannot be moved, but abides forever.” Don’t really buy into believing in a single, one man god anymore, but I admit, hearing benedictions has an impact on me … it lifts my spirit. So hearing something at the end of a yoga class that’s so similar was very nice. Something more substantial to me than one word “Namaste”s or even “Shanti Shanti Shanti Peace Peace Peace.”

If anyone has benedictions to share that they recall, please do 🙂

I have no idea if it’s all classes … but I think so

From → Spirit

One Comment
  1. Guerrilla Yogi permalink

    wunderbar! I’ve been self-learning Kundalini and there are so many connections to the flow practice. Did you know that rocking back and forth creates better energy flow in the spine? I feel like my default breath is that of the fire. And the chanting is integral to the practice! wahe guru!

Leave a Reply

