Skip to content

Where does yoga begin

by on March 24, 2011

[Title from the first lecture track of Richard Freeman’s The Yoga Matrix]

 

(yoga class, nytimes.com)

How funny is it that Sachin writes his Yoga is post the same day I re-listened to this track during practice.

And later in the day I see an old issue pop up in a new context – the Take Back Yoga campaign.

In short, the point of the campaign is to remind Americans of yoga’s Hindu roots. Listen to today’s NPR story on the topic.

This is old(er) news though, since the NYT reported on it in November.

But Sachin’s post, the news today, and listening to The Yoga Matrix this morning … it ties together.

In the NPR audio, there’s a quote:

Dr. PANDIT RAJMANI TIGUNAIT (Spiritual Director, Himalayan Institute): People are looking far, gaining access to their own core being. I don’t know whether I really practice yoga because I’m Hindu or I practice yoga because I’m a human being.

In The Yoga Matrix, Freeman says that no matter how we get to yoga, it ultimately doesn’t matter, because we’ve embarked on a path. And you know what? I kinda like that.

So yoga/kickboxing? Yogalates? Whatever gets you in the door, man. We don’t have to be yogier than thou.

1.1 Now, after having done prior preparation through life and other practices, the study and practice of Yoga begins.
(atha yoga anushasanam)

From → Philosophy, sutras

2 Comments
  1. Guerrilla Yogi permalink

    ha! my favorite quote: “I will, as a practitioner, do anything that’s legal to get people to stretch, because I think it’s very good for them.”

  2. Love the title of this blog…it looks like you are off to a good start with your posts…like the twitter post!

Leave a Reply

