Skip to content

Yoga Teacher Training – Day 19

by on February 24, 2013
Chalkboard message for the day

Chalkboard message for the day

Today started with an aura viewing exercise! Well, I got to class late, and just in time for the aura exercise. I’ve done this and several other exercises many times before, but it was fun to watch everyone try, and to listen to the several oohs and aahs, as well as the frustration of those that couldn’t. The best part was, although I regularly practice aura viewing, something about everyone consciously performing the same activity really took it to the next level for me. I was seeing energy everywhere and for hours after the exercise! The lesson was that while I’ve typically considered aura viewing an advanced or esoteric practice, our teacher made it seem entirely accessible to everyone, which is part of my yoga goal (to make it accessible to everyone), which in turn helps me develop my own skills further.

We followed it up with a final lecture by the queen bee, where she asked us if we had any remaining questions based on what we had learned. After a couple of students asked for clarification on some philosophical and emotional practices, I had a teaching related question: how can I fuse some of these basic concepts into my class for western students that typically seek a more physical practice? I got some excellent tips, including injecting bhavas for specific asanas, such as vayragya with savasana. She also emphasized my favorite principle, that your body is your best teacher! Brownie points for this one…

After lunch and relaxation, we had a lecture on more sutras including starting with chapter 2 – the sutras for the average student. As opposed to the sutras for advanced students in chapter 1. Patanjali apparently wanted to address the easiest paths to enlightenment first, and follow them with practices for those that need more help. We covered sutras 2-1 and 2-3, and I’ll simply post the text here as translated by Satchidananda, and let you figure out (and comment!) on your own interpretations:

2-1: Accepting pain as help for purification, study of spiritual books, and surrender to the Supreme Being constitute Yoga in practice.

2-2 (just FYI): They help us minimize obstacles and attain samadhi.

2-3: Ignorance, egoism, attachment, hatred, and clinging to bodily life are the five obstacles.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

